Reconnaissant !


Two months ago, the memory card of my dear phone Sayuri crashed and I lost most of its 3major components:  My work related things;  My music which helps the transition between my moods, I fall asleep listening to Pavarotti’s Ave Maria and wake up with Kirk Franklin’s “My life, My love  My  All,” during the course of the day I might listen to my jazz or highlife inspired playlist ; and finally I lost my pictures!!! If  you know me well enough you’ll know how much I treasure my photos.. memorial from my globetrotting. This upset the delicate balance of  my everyday life.
The balance was temporarily  restored over the holidays as I found succour in churning out  delectable meals for my family. Then on the 1st of January, GEJ announced the removal of  fuel subsidy and that just crushed this temporary balance.. .

The week of  the 9th of January  started on a semi high.  Hurray!!!!!!  Coral & Caramel Drapings is ONE!!! Although Sehindemi isn’t  speaking to me, we have much to be grateful for. I was very very glad to see my country men( &women) unite and speak in unity. Its been a long long time since I’ve seen this happen. Scenes from the day Abacha’s death was announced flash through my mind and that’s probably’ the last time we all shared a common voice. It took a nose dive however when The NLC called off the strike. I can’t lie I felt betrayed. Here was our chance to insist on accountability from all levels of government but we let it go to waste.
somewhere in the midst all of this. The tide began to change on a personal level. I have being waiting on a particular phone call for the longest of times and guess what it finally came… I’m over joyed as this is the start of greater things to come…

Sehindemi‘s birthday ended  20hours ago & I’m happy to report that we’ve cleared the air. He wanted a chilled day, luckily for me  I was able  to steal him away from his other friends for a few hours to have brunch at Salamader. I surprised him with Jaipur, an oriental perfume by The House of Boucheron.

Speaking of  Boucheron, Future husband you will be at the pinnacle of your game should you choose to purchase my engagement ring from The House of  Boucheron. whilst we are on the subject of  engagements & weddings, This year is definitely the year of Weddings. Its only the first month of the year and already 3 really good friends of mine and one cousin have  given me the dates and cost of their aso ebi with a few others asking me to keep the rest of the year open… of the four, two have asked that I be on their bridal trains; another has asked that I help coordinate the search for ‘elegant-with-subtle -hints-of-sexy’ bridesmaids dresses. It looks like we’ve got a destination wedding on our hands, whoop whoop we going to JAMAICA!!!!!
Just yesterday I shopped virtually with Angel  for her wedding dress.  I’m very happy to be a part of my dear friends’ big days. ‘Olorun a seyin ni ore ara yi kale’ Amin! (I find that saying some prayers in Yoruba carries more depth . My prayer is that their love for each other lasts their life time.)

During my search I came across 3 exceptional websites that have blown me away and I have proceeded to shamelessly stalk. First is owned by a professed gentleman Enitan Bereola ,  the author of a book called Bereolaesque which has chivalry as its basis. I eagerly await a chance to review this book.  www.bereolaesque-online.com Next on the list is
www.bcgeventdecor.blogspot.com
www.bcgevents.com  which  is an events and decor company have a look and see for yourself.  The last and by no means the least is a blog owned by Ace photographer Dotun whose latest post is sheer brilliance.www.dotunsblog.com
Reconnaissant is french for grateful…. I am in a state of gratitude! I’m grateful for small mercies and for all of Life’s simple blessings. Did I mention that when I examined Sayuri last night I was able to retrieve from its memory card some things that I once believed I had lost forever. Speak soon
Mille Bisous,

O.S-Hughes

One thought on “Reconnaissant !

We'd love to hear from you, Do leave us a line...

