Y e l l o w~ M o o N


 

Miss Sun did not rise yesterday, or did she?
I tell myself I must have missed her, but yet I know all too well that I haven’t, I couldn’t, how could I. For How does one miss the Sun? Impossible! She is everywhere, ever shining, from the moment she rises to the time she sleeps, all eyes stay on her, but be careful not to look too close, lest you be blinded by her radiance. For she is every man’s dream, the brightest of all stars and they all wish they could be just like her.
From the first time I laid eyes on her, I became lost in her beauty that transcends all imagination, for even in my dreams, I have never been as fortunate to behold such a sight. And so, I am quick to wake, hoping to glimpse her rise, and she brings a smile to my face every single time. And when the day is gone and she bids me farewell, I feel the tears well up inside me, and i wonder why does it always have to be this way. Why can’t she just stay?
Oh how I love the sun. What’s not to love? Every day, I pray to wake and feel her love strongly, her gaze fixed upon my skin, her passion burning a hole through my heart. Yet, there are those days when she seems not to notice me at all, and suddenly life seems a lot colder, as the chilling winds of loneliness blow, letting me know how much I need her, how much I love her, how much I want her. Oh how i wish the morning would quickly come.
So I can once more gaze upon her smile that hovers in the horizon, her enticing beauty.  But sleep seems far from me. Why do I crave her so? I pondered, and in the deep meditation of my thoughts.
I saw her.
Outside my open window, there she danced in the sky, shining in my darkness, relieving my despair, and then it dawned on me. In a world full of many stars, it became harder and harder to remember she was even there. But there she was, ever present, ever shining, even though most of the time i could not see her, yet she was always there. She didn’t care if i seemed not to love her because all she wanted was to love me. Choosing not to intrude upon my life, she just sat there waiting for me to notice her.
Oh what a fool i was. How long had she been there waiting? I do not know. I failed to notice every single time. Compared to Miss Sun, she seemed a bit drab, and whichever way i looked at it, she was simply a reflection of the woman of my dreams. But last night, she seemed a lot different, so full of Life, and when she smiled at me, the darkness suddenly became light around me. I couldn’t help but smile, and let out a deep sigh as i closed my eyes to much needed sleep.
And when I arose, Miss Sun was upon me doing her graceful dance. Unconsciously, I trained my eyes to the sky, and felt a wave of disappointment. I couldn’t see her, but I knew she was there, and for the first time, I found myself wishing that the sun would disappear, just so I could see her again.
O What a fool I was. To ignore the one who always looks out for me. Her love never rises nor sets, always there watching from a distance, simply waiting for me to notice her and pull her into my arms.

Each one of us has a Sun and a Moon,  and often times we are overtaken by the charm of our desire to get what we want that we neglect what we need that’s right in front of us..
I loved Miss Sun because she is glorious and wonderful. But to be honest, in light of recent revelations, I cannot help but love Miss Moon more. Why, you might ask. Its quite simple. She loved me first, and now i know that her love is all that I’ll ever need. Indeed, I need nothing more, as long as I have my Moon I am complete.

Happy St Valentines Day
with Love Sehindemi!

 

3 thoughts on “Y e l l o w~ M o o N

  1. Another great read, Tanwa! Kudos to Sehindemi for the material.

    I’m definitely for #TeamMoon …

    “……..But there she was, ever present, ever shining, even though most of the time i could not see her, yet she was always there. She didn’t care if i seemed not to love her because all she wanted was to love me. Choosing not to intrude upon my life, she just sat there waiting for me to notice her”…

    That’s just profound! The love of the father comes to mind here – now, who turns that down?? From your write up, i take it that you’re knocking yourself out for not being perceptive. Did you ever get a chance to right the wrong?#Nosy …attributes like hers are quite rare

  2. Indeed, the Love of the Father is beyond words.
    But for many years I did turn Him down, just like i turned Her down again and again. I do knock myself out for not being perceptive but have come to understand that we men are such fools.

    And since regret isn’t something I like to dwell on, I plan to spend the rest of my life making it up to Her, hoping she’ll let me.

    So, Miss Moon, you know who you are, and if you ever get to read this, lest i haven’t told you enough, I love you, for you’ve become My Sun, and every day without you is darkness I pray to forget.

We'd love to hear from you, Do leave us a line...

