Love, according to a Yoruba proverb…


 the one thing that’s invisible on the cups in the picture is the inscription

“Why can’t you see it”

I was doing jovial ‘ofofo’ (a.k.a amebo, tatafo, aproko) with my bosses sometime last week, when one of them said the following proverb:

“Eni ti won ba n mu’yawo wa ba o ki n na ga”.

It wasn’t until a few days after that I realized that somehow, God has made him say that proverb for my benefit.

Literally, it means – “The person for whom a wife is being brought doesn’t stretch his neck [anxiously looking to see when she arrives]”. And the ‘deep’ meaning is that Patience is a Virtue.

Let me explain why this is important. Recently, I’ve been spending a lot of emotional energy on a certain fellow who ‘fits me perfectly’ (in my own eyes). I haven’t fallen in love with him, since love is a decisive choice; but I know I won’t have a problem with that if it came to it. So, being the go-getter that I am, I’d been dropping all the subtle hints and basically letting him know I was ‘feeling his Persona ‘ without really saying it. The guy has been playing hard to get sha. He’d do all these pretty nice things for/to me, and then switch to stonecold mode like nothing dey dia. Then, he’d decide not to even talk to me at all. A girl can take a hint now – ‘He’s Just Not That Into Me’.

So, I’d been sulking about his fronting for a bit, then I appropriated my oga’s proverb and felt a lot better. They say ‘if you love sometimes you have to let go, but if it comes back then it means so much more’. Love is a pretty strong word to use for now, but you get my drift sha.

Anywho, the moral lesson of my gist is that I know for sure that my husband go come, that God is gonna come and give him to me. So, I don’t need to be stretching neck. Shikena. I’ll just keeping working to make myself a Proverbs 31 woman.

Happy Holidays y’all. (Did another 10km today. I’m on fire! Lol). Have a blessed weekend!
__________
Isha
ishashotgist.blogspot.com

UPDATE: January 11, 2013 at 10:41 am

O.S-Hughes : I just reread this post by Isha and two things come to mind.

Everything Good Will Come by Sefi Atta.

My favourite scripture, which I believe is self explanatory Habakkuk 2:3.

For the vision is yet for an appointed time;
But at the end it will speak, and it will not lie.
Though it tarries, wait for it;
Because it will surely come,
It will not tarry.

6 thoughts on “Love, according to a Yoruba proverb…

  1. I just reread this post by Isha and two things come to mind.

    ~ Everything Good Will Come by Sefi Atta.

    My favourite scripture, which I believe is self explanatory Habakkuk 2:3.

    For the vision is yet for an appointed time;
    But at the end it will speak, and it will not lie.
    Though it tarries, wait for it;
    Because it will surely come,
    It will not tarry.

We'd love to hear from you, Do leave us a line...

