Time & Chance…


But time & chance happen to them all
I returned and saw under the sun that the race is not to the swift or the battle to the strong; neither is bread to the wise nor riches to men of intelligence and understanding nor favour to men of skill; but time and chance happen to them all. – Ecclesiastes 9:11
I have an over analytical mind and I’m also a calculated risk-taker (however crazy that might sound). I will not take a decision unless I’m convinced that whichever way it pans out will work in my best interest. I am almost a perfectionist, with an eye & ear for details,

I realise that I’m not there yet. There is still much work to be done if I’m to fulfil this vision in my heart that God showed me of becoming an amazing woman.

I like to watch debates and listen to intelligent conversations. I’m almost always on the lookout for opportunities to learn. So you can imagine that I listened to as well as have the transcripts of the speeches Michelle and Barack gave. Very inspiring stuff! I will not bore you with my analysis of Michelle’s speech today.

There is one point however that I’ve picked from Mr. Obama’s acceptance speech:
But that doesn’t mean your work is done. The role of citizen in our democracy does not end with your vote. America’s never been about what can be done for us. It’s about what can be done by us together through the hard and frustrating, but necessary work of self-government. That’s the principle we were founded on.” –  BO
Even though the above sounds like JFK’s “Ask not what your country can do for you This was BO telling his citizenry that their work isn’t done just because they’ve cast their votes. This right here is the opinion of many Nigerians since they cast their votes in 2011, somehow they believe that their work is done until 2015.

We must wake up from our slumber and realise that we have to work together if we are to succeed as a nation. For us to see the change we so desperately desire, we must begin to work from NOW . You who want to serve as a senator, how prepared are you? How well do you know your constituency? What will you be bringing to the table? Which kind of leader would you be?  (please tell me your response to that was servant-leader because those are the kind of leaders we as a Nation need.)  Last year I followed our elections earnestly.  I surprised a few friends that do not know politics is one of my interests. I especially followed the Lagos State gubernatorial elections with keen interest, where Dominic Adegbola ( APGA)  Ade Dosunmu [PDP] Yomi Tokoyah [ ANPP] J.K Randle [ SDMP] and Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola [ACN] debated. It was an interesting debate in its own right, where you could easily see who came prepared i.e BRF & Dosunmu and who came with the hope that God will appear and speak on his behalf, and the one who came to teach the history of Lagos ( I was rather ashamed for Pa Randle, especially how he insisted on tarnishing his good name in front of all who tuned in whispering under his breath “awon omo to o leko”)  and the one candidate who left no lasting impression.  If we are to do a comparison we will see that  Obama like BRF  was well prepared and answered questions directed at him intelligently with well articulated plans for his people, delivered with poise & panache. Ade Dosunmu Like Mitt Romney looked eloquent and had the likeness of fireworks fiery and beautiful but unsustainable. They lost because of their lack of consistency and inability to articulate their plans to move their State & Country forward.

It is not the age of experience but the age of ideas that count “- BRF .  That said when last did you pray for those in positions of authority [authority  includes bosses at work, pastors at church, parents if they are still alive, husband if you are married] For Faith not accompanied by action is dead- James 2: 17. It is the combination of both that brings about success!

In the last few months I’ve picked key theme words that I have placed in the forefront of my conscious mind and mulled them over in each given month. August was ‘Sacrifice’; September was for ‘Family Ethos’ and staying true to my identity regardless of the situation. October is my favourite month of the year and October this year was interesting to say the least! The word for October was ‘Clarity’. I was tired of the grey-scale that seemed predominant in certain areas of my life and I decided to insist on my block colours and no half measures.  I have been inspired by Obama’s win and my special” dear  friend Tks’ doggedness. Earlier in the year Tks shared his plan for his pet project with me, right now it has blossomed and is well on its way to being the next BIG thing.
This has led me to the following action bursts that will be at the forefront of my conscious mind for rest of the year and beyond.

  • Prepare for War in the time of Peace: Seeing Mr. Obama win was heart warming. How easy it is to see the glitz associated with his position and forget all the work he has put in over the years. From his years at Harvard, to him working as a pro-bono lawyer etcetera. Even though we say time and chance happens to us all, if a person is ill prepared when chance happens by, he will not know how to respond. Let’s look at Abraham who had to rescue his nephew Lot. We are told he took an army of three hundred and eighteen men. Where did this army of fighting men materialise from? He obviously anticipated that there would come a time when his peace/ safety will be threatened.
  • Develop your skill-set: Be versatile,  Be diligent with your opportunities. If you are like me then you probably aren’t working in your first field of choice. What I have come to realise however, is that as well as getting ready for war in the time of peace, I also have to train myself for the place I want to be. Think of Joseph! very early on in his life he got a clear picture of where he would be many years down the line. He had a dream! Rather than start off in the King’s place, he started off as a servant but nonetheless, he was diligent and then went on to be administrator in charge of Potiphar Holdings. Enter Mrs Potiphar wanting  a piece of  him. which led to him being transferred to another place he had no desire to be in, but rather than complain or squander his opportunity, he developed his gift and went on to be given another position of authority. Chief Prison Jailer! To get bitter is one of the best ways to short circuit the development of your gift – Paul Adefarasin. Fast forward to the fulfilling of the promise of God that came to him in form of a dream: One thing that jumps out at me is that because of the time spent developing himself and his skill-set! He was able to( by the leading of the Holy Spirit)  interpret the King’s dream and proffer a full proof solution to that problem. A foreigner was made The Prime Minister ; i.e the number two person in the whole of Egypt. His advice led Egypt to become a world power. “He stepped in one mighty stride from being a prisoner with a few privileges to the keeper of the Royal Seal with an authority second only to the throne.”- EDWJ  
  • Be intentional: I must wake up in the morning with a plan. Not stumble through my day unsure and uncertain. Live Life on Purpose. For some strange reason when I think of intentionality my mind goes to Ruth and how she subtly made her intentions known to Boaz. It was no mistake that she huddled up under his foot, or that she wound up on his farm. She did it on purpose (as directed by Naomi). She knew what she hoped to gain. She went out and did what it took. Intentionality is not reckless though, for as Esther exemplifies, even the most noble of plans need to be well laid. She didn’t just stumble into Xerxes court, she strode in on purpose.

To create something of lasting value you must be willing to pay the cost and be ready for the long haul – Dr Oby Ezewesili

  • Feedback is Essential: I didn’t realise how important this was until my boss pointed it out.  My Boss had given me a task and I had spent a lot time gathering resources and making several calls trying to accomplish it. To my dismay however, I wasn’t making any head way. I felt disappointed and for that reason I didn’t revert. He later pointed the importance of feedback in this case as an absolute necessity because had I gone back to him, we would have been able to put heads together and would have found a solution.

I must apply myself, its not enough to say I’m interested in Opera & Theatre, food and cooking from farm to table. Communication/ Journalism and writing etcetera. If I don’t find like minded people to associate with and learn from. It will mean all I have is intent as Dr Tony Rapu says “What you’re not willing to pay for you cannot attain to. What you’re not willing to fight for you cannot achieve.” 

Till we chat again ciao !

O S-Hughes

9 thoughts on “Time & Chance…

  1. Wow. How do you combine being analytical and risk taking? *straight face*. I guess you have both at almost equal propositions and can swing either ways.

    Really deep stuff. Adding you to my blogroll mehn.

    1. LOl, Loving your Straight face Deronk,….
      To be honest its a gift and a curse tied in one…this choleric part of me.
      [ Courtesies] I’m delighted at the honour.. & Welcome to our “Play-ground”

We'd love to hear from you, Do leave us a line...

