200 years of Mr Darcy!


Ori/ Dotun's blog

[This is my interpretation of a modern-day Mr Darcy I found him on Dotun’s blog awhile ago ]

Today is the 200th anniversary  of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice  it was first published on January 28, 1813.

If you’ve read my older posts like  and Moonlight Conversations . Then you’ll know how much i loveeeeeee Jane Austen, her words… sigh! the effect they have on me cannot be put into words.

I love the way she mixes simplicity and complexity.  The depth of her characters sigh! obviously my favourite character is Fitzwilliam Darcy . ‘swoon’. Some of the words used to describe him are Brooding.  Aloof & socially awkward.  A rich, slightly finicky, older man imprisoned by good manners but inside lurks a smouldering romantic flame others just don’t notice.

The thing that attracts me most is the manner in which he & Elizabeth fall in Love from Absolute Contempt to  without an Anchor.

To celebrate this anniversary I will be watching my favourite adaptations of “Pride & Prejudice.”   the BBC ‘s version ( 1995)  with Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy and the Movie version that was made in 2005 with  Matthew Macfadyen as Mr. Darcy and  Keira Knightley as his Elizabeth Bennet.

These are a few of the most memorable quotes :

‘ It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife ‘ 

‘She is tolerable; but not handsome enough to tempt me’ – Mr Darcy

I might as well inquire,” , “why with so evident a desire of offending and insulting me, you chose to tell me that you liked me against your will, against your reason, and even against your character? – Ms Elizabeth

I could go on and on but I’ll stop here. What are your favourite quotes from Pride & Prejudice?

anna karenina premiere 5 040912

He would have made a great Mr Darcy, just my thoughts!

Have a great day guys!

The Enduring Life of Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet (theatlanticwire.com)

5 Responses to “200 years of Mr Darcy!”

  1. *rolls eyes* hopeless romantic.

    Lol.

  2. You don’t belong in this generation darling. LOL!! I love Keira Knightley though. I think she’s graceful.

    • LOL! I don’t think I do either but hey!
      Keira is so graceful and tomboyish, all in one. I like how she found the balance.
      One person said Jude Law is to cute to be Mr. Darcy!

  3. whoah this blog is great i love studying your posts.
    Keep up the good work! You already know.

We'd love to hear from you, Do leave us a line...

